Washington state’s relatively weak felony DUI laws are about to get tougher.
A near-dead bill that would make a fourth DUI a felony in our state is now headed to the governor’s desk after a last minute move in the Legislature. Our state has the weakest law in the country of the 46 states with felony DUI laws — it takes 5 DUIs before making it a felony. This bill makes a fourth DUI in 10 years a felony, and mandates 13 to 17 months in prison, rather than shorter sentences in a county jail.
Read the full story here: Senator vexed by Washington state’s lax felony DUI law